My Current Workout Schedule

Hi Folks!

Always a pleasure to reach out to all you lovely people out there. I have received several notes asking to share my routine – in fact that has been on my list ‘to do’ for a while now. So without much ado, here goes:

Presently I am following a “one muscle group per day – twice a week for legs” routine.

Monday: Cardio/Arms/Abs

  • 15 Minutes Warm up on the treadmill
  • Biceps:
    • Standing barbel curls – 3 sets x 12;10;8 reps
    • Alternate dumbbell curls – 3 sets x 10; 8; 6 reps
  • Triceps:
    • Close grip (a.k.a narrow grip) bench press – 4 sets x 12;10;8;6 reps
    • Dumbbell crossface – 3 sets x 10 reps each
    • Cable tricep pressdowns – 4 sets x 12; 10; 8; 6 reps
  • Abs: (I don’t do abs ‘everyday’ of the week. Just 3 days a week is just as good)
    • Plank: 1 minute x 4 sets.

Cool down with a short stretch and deep breathing.

Tuesday & Friday: Legs Day!

  • Warm ups with a full body stretch and 50 jumping jacks.
  • Straight Leg deadlifts: 1 warm up set (10-12 reps); 3 working sets (10;8;6 reps)
  • (Optional) Lying Leg Curls: 3 sets x 10;10;8 reps [I list this as “optional” because, I sometimes skip it, when I am hard pressed for time. I don’t have a proper leg curl/leg extension machine, so I do this exercise by lying face down on a flat bench and wedging a dumbbell between my toes! – another example of my ‘improvise’ philosophy 🙂]
  • Leg extension: 4 sets x 12;10;8;6 reps
  • Box Squats: [I do box squats as an alternative to regular squats, because I do not have a power rack OR smith machine in my gym. I do this by using the weight rack on the flat bench (I set the bench one notch below flat – in the decline position) – am seeing some very encouraging results with this.] 1 warm up set; 4 working sets x 10;8;6;4 – my last set is currently at 100kg (220lbs) and I plan to increase that to 105kgs. (231lbs.) over the next 2 weeks.
  • Standing Calf Raises: 5 sets x 20 reps

Cool down with deep breathing.

Wednesday: Chest & Abs

10 minute brisk walk on the treadmill.

  • Chest:
    • Body stretch and floor push ups 2 sets x 30; 20 reps
    • Flat bench press 5 sets x 12;10;8;6;4 reps
    • Incline Dumbbell press 4 sets x 12;10;8;8 reps
    • Dumbbell pullovers 3 sets x 10 reps each.
  • Abs:
    • Crunches 5 sets x 20 reps.

Cool down with full body stretch & deep breathing.

Thursday: Back & Forearms

Warm up with 10 minutes brisk walk on the treadmill.

  • Back:
    • Chin Ups (total of 25 reps – over multiple sets)
    • Hyperextension (for lower back strength) 3 sets x 12 reps.
    • Deadlift 2 sets heavy 4-6 reps
    • Lat Pulldown – 4 sets x 15;12;10;8 reps
  • Forearms:
    • Barbell Reverse Curls: 3 sets x 12;10;8 reps.

Cool Down with full body stretch and deep breathing.

Saturday: Shoulders & Abs

Warm up with 10 minute brisk walk on the treadmill.

  • Shoulders:
    • Barbell Shoulder Press 1 set warms; 3 sets x 15;12;10 reps
    • Dumbbell Lateral Raises 3 sets x 12; 10; 10 reps
    • Upright Barbell Rows 3 sets x 12;10;8 reps
    • Seated bent over rear delt raises 3 sets x 12;10;8 reps
  • Abs:
    • Hanging Leg Raises: 4 sets x 10 reps
    • Plank 1 minute x 2 sets
    • Crunches 3 sets x 20 reps.

Cool down with Full body stretch and deep breathing.

Sunday: Complete Rest.

Apart from this workout, I also take the below supplements everyday:

  1. Pre workout: 1 scoop Optimum Nutrition 100% Gold Standard WHEY
  2. Post workout: 1 scoop Optimum Nutrition 100% Gold Standard WHEY
  3. At bed time: 1 scoop of Optimum Nutrition 100% Gold Standard CASEIN.

I take all of the above mixed with water only. I have also tried using pre workout suppments such as ON AMI.N.O and BSN N.O. Xplode.

So, there it is. At this point, I’d also mention that I like to switch my programs once every 2-2.5 months (roughly 9-10 weeks). Do share your experience/results, in case you want to try this program.

Cheers!

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this publish was good. I do not know who you are however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t already. Cheers!

    1. anandspeak says:

      Thank you for the kind words. I just try to share whatever little I have been able to learn over the years in the gym 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I have seen lots of useful elements on your internet site about computers. However, I have the view that laptops are still more or less not powerful more than enough to be a option if you often do tasks that require lots of power, including video touch-ups. But for net surfing, statement processing, and majority of other popular computer work they are just great, provided you cannot mind the little screen size. Appreciate sharing your thinking.

  3. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really understand what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my website =). We will have a hyperlink trade agreement between us

    1. anandspeak says:

      Sure, Id be more than happy to exchange links with your website.

  4. I love it when people come together and share ideas.
    Great site, continue the good work!

    1. anandspeak says:

      Thanks for stopping by.
      -Anand

  5. Bradyn says:

    Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it
    and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  6. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m
    quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. anandspeak says:

    These days I am out on business travel to Malaysia and I am not following the above routine. In fact I have tweaked it more to accommodate for compressed schedules and increased cardio work.
    So, I am doing more treadmill/Cycle combos and reduced weight lifting. I am not eliminating weight training altogether because I just love to do it. One of the biggest challenge, according to me, while traveling, is scheduling time for a workout. I am still pushing to keep my sleep/wake schedules the same as back home. But it is difficult. And even when I manage to get to the gym, the time available for workout is limited. Unlike home, I have to leave the hotel at 8:30 am.
    So, at a high level, I am following the same routine (as in muscle groups) mentioned in the above post – but the variations are reduced and more focus on cardio.

Leave a Reply

