Realization..

Image Courtesy: http://www.flickr.com/photos/shuttermonkey/ / CC BY 2.0

The light of realization comes on
The light of realization comes on

The last month has been truly eventful, in terms of introspection and realization. The short survey that I shared with my friends, has brought to light so many ideas and thoughts, about my blog, that I was completely blind to!

I have been blogging for close to 5 years now, and have always been wondering, why I don’t get the kind of readership, that I should be getting. And here are some of the answers that I got:

  1. The layout of my blog was not good.
  2. Nobody liked the color scheme (except myself – but of course!)
  3. The content was good but since it was too cluttered, most of them preferred to give it a pass.
  4. More Importantly, it looked like I was trying to accomplish too many different things in there. And that kinda’ defeated the whole purpose of having a blog that is focused

And when I really did some soul searching about the purpose of my blog and the kind of things I could do, the first thing that I ended up doing is to the layout. I decidedly wanted a simpler and neater layout, that was less crowded.

Some of the changes

  1. I got a suggestion that the blog should not contain my name. I still kept it, because over the years, many people have associated my blog with the name ‘anandspeak’. But I did get a new tag-line for it. “LIVE SMART”. So, that’s going to be the focus of my blog.
  2. I will try to keep it simple and write about:
    1. Personal Finance
    2. Fitness routines and workout tips for everyday people who don’t want to become fashion models :).
    3. Some opinions and ideas to de-clutter your life (My inspiration in this area is Leo Babuata – of zenhabits)
    4. And last but not the least, the occasional rambling – after all this still IS my blog and I am allowed to blabber, once in a while 🙂
  3. A major change is that I switched from Blogger.com to WordPress.com. A little research revealed that wordpress certainly had prettier templates and a lot more features to exploit, when compared to Blogger.com (Even so, blogger has all my respects and I still run a couple of other blogs on blogger). One of the biggest feature is that I get to publish multiple pages, so I can actually distribute some static stuff across other pages, rather than cramming everything on the same front page.

Some of the “Work In Progress” items:

  1. I will play around with different templates in the next couple of weeks and then zero in on one.
  2. Need to update categories on the posts.
  3. Some of the links still point to the Old Blogger site. I need to change them

I hope you all like the new ‘anandspeak – live smart’ concept.

Do Share Your fantastic thoughts with me, by leaving a comment.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. kishore says:

    Hi Anand ,

    your introspection is pretty good with self-analysis of what to do than regrets .I also liked the fact that your words are true to urself in every sense of trying to better the blog .kudos for ur realisation and mostly for the initiation and i believe u have won before achieving it when realised and initiated which u have . All the best and keep posting as always .

    -Kishore

  2. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. ..

    -Bill-Bartmann

    1. anandspeak says:

      Thank you for your comment Bill. Appreciate your kind words.

  3. Tony Brown says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  4. Kelli Garner says:

    Really nice posts. I will be checking back here regularly.

  5. Kelli Garner says:

    Thats very good to know… thanks

Leave a Reply

