Getting back into shape!

Image Courtesy:

After a brief bout of illness last month, I am now working towards physical reconditioning and getting back into shape. I thought of writing this post, so that I can share my approach and also inspire a few others, to take up exercising, if they haven’t already. This approach may appear a lot more adaptable, because at this time, I am pretty much out of shape, myself, thanks to all the medication and crazy diet, post recovery.I must admit that during periods that I am not working out, I usually also tend to become careless about what/how much I eat – a trait that I need to work on seriously.

In fact, I have also been set back by a whole month on my 100 push-ups challenge. But not one, to be kept down by adversities, I am now back on my workout routine. During my recovery period, I came across some interesting concepts in exercising, such as the plank (Surprisingly, I never explored this, in the close to decade and a half that I have been involved with workouts. I was a traditional sit-ups::crunch guy, all along.)
I also discovered an interesting blog called, ‘FitAndBusyDad‘ by Chris Lopez. He comes up with some very interesting concepts on keeping the workout sessions ‘short’, ‘focused’ and ‘effective’.

So, without much ado, here’s the schedule that I am following at this time. I have broken it up into two parts, (a) conditioning; (b) full workout.

A: Conditioning (I did this for about 2 weeks)

MON-WED-FRI: (estimated time 20 minutes – excluding the walk)

  1. Brisk walk in the outdoors (30 minutes) ‘optional – but recommended’
  2. Basic full body stretching (5 minutes.)
  3. Floor Push-Ups (10 x 3 sets)
  4. Plank (3 sets x 15 seconds)

TUE-THU-SAT: (estimated time 20 minutes – excluding the walk)

  1. Brisk Walk in the outdoors (30 minutes) ‘optional – but recommended’
  2. Basic Full Body stretching (5 minutes)
  3. Free Squats (15 x 3 sets)
  4. Plank (3 sets x 15 seconds)

SUNDAY:-REST

B: Full Workout

MON-WED-FRI: (estimated time 25 minutes – excluding the walk)

  1. Brisk Walk in the outdoors (30 minutes) ‘optional – but recommended’
  2. Basic Full Body stretching (5 minutes)
  3. Free Squats (20-25-20-15)
  4. Hamstring Curls* (20 x 3 sets)
  5. Standing Calf Raises (25 x 2 sets)
  6. Plank (30 seconds x 4 sets)
  7. Side Plank (15 seconds x 2 sets)

*Hamstring Curls: Normally this is done on a leg extension/curl machine in the gym. But there is an easy home based alternative too. Here’s How:

  • Lie face down, on your stomach, on a thick mat or a blanket (ensure that your knees are not touching the hard surface of the floor directly – this may lead to an avoidable injury).
  • Lift your upper body such that you are resting on your elbows (imagine lying down on a beach, on your stomach)
  • Now bend your knees, bringing your heels towards your buttocks (ensure that your feet are together in this motion) as far as you can – exhale.
  • Slowly bring it back to starting position – inhale.
  • You don’t have to touch the toes back to the floor. Try to keep them in the air.
  • I have recently purchased a pair of 1 kg ankle weights, for extra resistance. But this is optional.

TUE-THU-SAT: (estimated time 30 minutes – excluding the walk)

  1. Brisk Walk in the outdoors (30 minutes) ‘optional – but recommended’
  2. Basic Full Body stretching (5 minutes)
  3. Floor Push-ups (I recommend following the schedule as per the 100 push ups challenge website – read the site carefully and choose your routine, depending on your current level)
  4. Biceps Concentration Curls (“optional” 15 X 2 sets)
  5. Tricep extension (“optional” 10 x 2 sets)
  6. Plank (30 seconds x 4 sets)
  7. Side Plank (15 seconds x 2 sets)

SUNDAY:-REST

Starting last week, I am on “B-Full workout”, and am gradually getting into great shape. Hope you find this useful too. And it would be even better, if this inspires you to get cracking on that long postponed workout. Go for it.

-God Bless You.

As always, just to remind that I am not a doctor, so please consult your’s before embarking on any fitness regimen, especially so, if you are doing it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

